Pinterest Image

Summer Program for Kids

@ Balboa Library - Balboa

Magic, dance, storytelling, art


The Newport Beach Public Library will kick off the 2018 Summer Reading Program beginning June 23 at the Central Library and will include the three branch libraries, Corona del Mar, Balboa and Mariners.

The Newport Beach Public Library will kick off the 2018 Summer Reading Program beginning June 23 at the Central Library and will include the three branch libraries, Corona del Mar, Balboa and Mariners.


Billy Bonkers Magic

Go bonkers with Billy Bonkers’ Magic show! Billy’s silly magic presentation will delight children of all ages.

•Monday, June 25, 2 p.m. & 4 p.m., Crean Mariners Branch Library

•Tuesday, June 26, 10 a.m. & 12 p.m., Central Library

•Thursday, June 28, 11 a.m., Balboa Branch Library


Let's Go to Asia Crafts

Explore the continent of Asia through a variety of crafts. There will be activities for every skill level, so the whole family can enjoy making crafts.

•Monday, July 2, 2 p.m., Crean Mariners Branch Library

•Tuesday, July 3, 10 a.m., Central Library

•Thursday, July 5, 11a.m., Balboa Branch Library


Polynesian Paradise Dancers

Feel the rhythm of Hawai’i and the Polynesian islands as you experience island culture through dance. All ages will enjoy watching the dancers perform in their gorgeous costumes. Families can also participate in a hula lesson, using dance to create a story of Hawai’i’s history and tropical landscape.

•Monday, July 9, 2 p.m. & 4 p.m., Crean Mariners Branch Library

•Tuesday, July 10, 10 a.m. & 12 p.m., Central Library

•Thursday, July 12, 11 a.m., Balboa Branch Library


Let's Go Africa Crafts

Explore various regions and tribes of the continent of Africa through a variety of crafts. There will be activities for every skill level, so children of all ages will enjoy the crafts.

•Monday, July 16, 2 p.m., Crean Mariners Branch Library

•Tuesday, July 17, 10 a.m., Central Library

•Thursday, July 19, 11 a.m., Balboa Branch Library


Flights of Fantasy Story Theatre

Watch “From the Page to the Stage,” folktales from around the world come to life with memorable characters, props, and costumes. This unique interactive storytelling experience captivates all ages, so bring the whole family!

•Monday, July 23, 2 p.m. & 4 p.m., Crean Mariners Branch Library

•Tuesday, July 24, 10 a.m. & 12 p.m., Central Library

•Thursday, July 26, 11 a.m., Balboa Branch Library


Let's go to South America Crafts

Explore the continent of South America through a variety of crafts. There will be activities for every skill level in this artistic program.

•Monday, July 30, 2 p.m., Crean Mariners Branch Library

•Tuesday, July 31, 10 a.m., Central Library

•Thursday, August 2, 11 a.m., Balboa Branch Library


The Ocean Adventure

Visit the home of Nemo the fish...Australia’s Great Barrier Reef! Join Wayne and Karen Brown, naturalists and award-winning underwater photographers, as they share the wonders of their Australian expeditions through videos, storytelling, and life-sized props.

•Monday, August 6, 2 p.m. & 4 p.m., Crean Mariners Branch Library

•Tuesday, August 7, 10 a.m. & 12 p.m., Central Library

•Thursday, August 9, 11 a.m., Balboa Branch Library

  • Balboa Library - Balboa
  • 100 East Balboa Blvd
  • Balboa, CA 92661

Phone: (949) 644-3076

Website: Click to Visit

Suitable for: 1 - 15

$0.00

Free, provided on location.

Special Family Events
Activity Name Next Occurrence Suitable Ages
10/23/2018 3 - 5
10/24/2018 0 - 2

Event dates, times and cost are subject to change without notice. Before heading out, please contact the event organizer to verify the information provided. If you have questions about a particular event, please contact the event organizer directly.

Advertisements